I want to ride my bicycle, bicycle, bicycle

I came into work today to find a shiney new bicycle in the staff room. A bicycle just for me.

My boss bought it as a present so it would be easier to get to work and get home everday.  It’s a brand spanking new, shiney red bike with a light,too many gears to count on my fingers, and other fancy bicycle gadgets!!

Looking at it reminds me on the awesome song ‘Bicycle race’ by Queen.

“Bicycle, bicycle, bicycle
I want to ride my bicycle, bicycle, bicycle
I want to ride my bicycle
I want to ride my bike
I want to ride my bicycle
I want to ride it where I like

It also reminds me of a funny memory from a few years ago. I was over on Sherkin Island (a lovely, quiet island off the south west coast of Ireland) with my family. My Dad spotted a young ‘hooligan’ changing around the only signs on the island so tourists would follow the sign for the toilets and end up at a beautiful beach or follow the sign for the beach and end up at some smelly, public toilets! Not cool. 

So just as the youngster and his freinds jump on their bikes and ride off into the sunset my dad shouts “Hey! Stop! The back wheel on your bike is going around!” The idiotic youngster stops in his tracks and looks at his back wheel with a confused look on his face. Dad shouts again, “Be careful, the back wheel…it was going around!”. The guy just looked so confused and even a little worried, while his mates just stood there laughing at him. It was priceless.

Hopefully I won’t fall for such antics as I ride my new bicycle around the Korean countryside. It would be quite fun to switch around the South Korea/North Korea signposts in Munsan and see what happens though!

2 thoughts on “I want to ride my bicycle, bicycle, bicycle

Leave a Reply

