Seoul: The World’s Most Wired City

 This video really hits the nail on the head when describing life in Korea. Many People, my friends and parents in Ireland included, can’t seem to get their head around the fact that I’m currently living and teaching in Korea. They seem to have these crazy notions that I’m living in the sticks, in the middle of nowhere in some under developed country riding around on dragons and sleeping in a bush or something!

They ask ridiculous questions like; “Are you going to North Korea or South Korea?!” and say things like “Wow, you’re so crazy moving to Korea, I could never do that.” Really? Why could you never do that? the school pays for your return flights, accomodation and insurance and in exchange for a few hours teaching in a state of the art school, packed to the brim with excellent resources, they will give you millions of won a month to party at the weekends and explore this beautiful country. Seems like a pretty good deal to me!

People think Korea is some 3rd world country and have no idea where it actually is! Well, Guess what guys? Seoul is offcially the World’s most wired city and I can see why! Korea is more technologically developed than America!  In Seoul, 95 per cent of homes have broadband connection as opposed to only 65 per cent in America! There are also 20,000 internet cafes. 20,000!!

Every man, woman and child in Korea has a cellphone that is 10 times better than any phone I’ve ever owned. The phone I got when I arrived here was FREE because it is ‘last seasons’. Yet it has 4 camera modes, a video call mode, over 100 games and I can watch TV and listen to the radio on it…for free!

Last week, while doinf a lesson about finding  a room mates, understanding ads for apartment leases etc, I asked my students what are the most important chacteristics to look for in a furure house mate (such as tidyness, friendly, able to cook, likes cleaning etc). 2 out of 3 students said that the ideal room mate “must be able to play StarCraft” and other computer games! Madness.

After watching this video I just hope I won’t lose my job to a robot! That would be something else!

4 thoughts on “Seoul: The World’s Most Wired City

  1. Hello my loved one! I want to say that this post
    is amazing, great written and include approximately all significant infos.
    I’d like to see extra posts like this .

Leave a Reply

