Dear North Korea

Dear North Korea,

I don’t think you know me, but I guess it’s about time for a formal introduction. My name is Janet, and I moved in with your lovely southerly neighbour 99 days ago. It’s, I’m not ashamed to admit, the second longest relationship I’ve ever had, and it’s going strong.

We are in a bit of a love-hate relationship which can be testing at times to say the least but I’m in love and that is the bottom line. SK has found me the first job in my life that I actually immensely enjoy, a boss I actually get on with and best of all an awesome pay check at the end of each month.

SK is motivating me to be all that I can be. SK is helping me to learn a new language which before our tremulous relationship I would have never deemed possible. A language with a new alphabet, letters I find hard to comprehend and sounds I’m still unsure if my mouth will produce.

Through our whirlwind relationship, I  have made some of the most amazing friends I have ever met. People that make me laugh for hours on end. Be it dancing on tables, drinking foul Korean liquor by the bottle, climbing mountains, or simply kicking it in  Geumchon, they have made my time here nothing short of amazing, never a dull day with my munsan girls.

Don’t get me wrong, SK does have problems too. Like eating dog meat (really my love, there is no need for it), producing a foul smelling dish in the form of Kimchi, and constantly confusing me in culture and etiquette classes. However as the famous saying goes, sometimes in life, opposites attract.

The first week of our relationship was a rollercoaster. I was unsure if it would work out. I was unsure if the language barrier would keep us apart and our cultural differences would prove to much of a climb to get over. However, 99 days in I can honestly say…I’m in love. Life is great here and I would like it to stay that way.

I need you to back off your younger brother and start showing human decency. Stop fighting for heavens sake! I thought you got all this tension and fighting out of your system when you were both children over 50 years ago. You’re a grown man now and need to start acting like one. Stop shouting and start talking. Listen. COMPROMISE. Show a little compassion and maybe you guys can resolve this 50 year hatred and be friends again, be family again, the way things should be!

Hope this letter finds you well,

Janet

4 thoughts on “Dear North Korea

    1. Yes, you could be right there. Some people are saying this is just Kim Jung Il Juniors ‘on the job training’!!

  1. It’s sad to think, they
    ve been a united country for the past 2000 years. and only recently broke off. I think Nobody wants to go to war because family lies on both sides. So foreign opinions don’t weigh to heavily on the Korean mindset.

    1. I hope you’re right Ian. My boss says he thinks they are just doing what they always do and not much will come of it. I hope he’s right, too.

Leave a Reply

