“SHIVER ME TIMBERS”

“Shiver me timbers (or as we like to say in lil old Ireland “timber me shiversssssss!”) it’s damn cold outside!”. But as there is not a lot one can do about the weather I may as well build a bridge and..GET OVER IT. Which is exactly what I plan on doing…except instead of building a bridge I’m going to climb a mountain and instead of getting OVER it Im going to slide DOWN it!!

Confused?

Well…This weekend the Geumchon crew, myself included, are embracing this icy weather (with an average of -15 degrees this week its a little chilly) and heading to the Taebaek Snow and Ice Festival in Gangwon-do with Adventure Korea. It is set to be an eventful weekend of hiking in the snow, sipping hot chocolate in the Igloo Cafe and admiring the snow and ice sculptures…and , if we are feeling brave, taking part in a national ice climbing competition!

Brrrrrrrrr.

I am a little sad I never made it to Hwacheon Sancheoneo Ice Festival last weekend where apparently 100’s and 1000’s of Koreans descended on the frozen river trying their hand at ice fishing, something I have always wanted to try despite my dislike for fish! With nearly a million people visiting the festival each year, the crowds alone would have been a sight to see.

Oh well, there is always next year!

Leave a Reply

