Superkalifragilisticexcpialadocious!

“Don’t piss off Gorillas!”, wise advice, as always from my level 6 students(Written as part of a movie review assignment about King Kong yesterday!”) Not quite to vocabulary I would like them to be using, but as the sentence makes alot of sense I will let it slide this time. I am often surprised my my students level of vocab, especially the lower levels, as they turn around in their chair and excaim, “Are you KIDDING me??” when I let them know that, Yes, they will be getting homework today.

Yesterday one 9 year old student asked me, “Teacher, what’s the banter?” I nearly fell off my chair laughing at his perfect use of british slang! As to where he learnt it, I have not  clue. In that same class the same student taught me the difference, in ENGLISH, between the Kalishnikov AK47 guns used in Russia since 1949 and Korean M1 sniper rifles (??!!!) used during the Korean war!!!

Not to be outdone by my super smart students, today I revealed my own weapons of mass destruction;

ANTI-DISESTABLISHMENTARIANISM

and

SUPERKALIFRAGILISTICEXPIALADOCIOUS

We had great fun looking at youtube videos from Mary Poppins nd by the end of the class I had all the students singing a long;

Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!
Even though the sound of it
Is something quite atrocious
If you say it loud enough
You’ll always sound precocious
Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!

This week has been a nice reminder as to WHY I am in Korea teaching English. I LOVE teaching, I LOVE children and I seem to learn something new everyday, be it about my students or about myself!

So HERE is to all you other teachers in South Korea… CHIN UP and remember “Smile and the world (or your class!) smiles wih you, Frown and you frown alone!

4 thoughts on “Superkalifragilisticexcpialadocious!

  1. Hey! Found you on 20SB… glad your students are so fun. I had a friend who shared the antics of his South Korean classroom– so many good stories.

    Anyway, looking forward to reading more!

    1. Hey,
      Thanks for your kind comments. Teaching here is a lot of fun, funny stories to tell almost every day!!
      Glad I have a new follower!
      🙂

Leave a Reply

