St. Patrick’s Day 2011, Korea meets Ireland

What NOT TO WEAR for PADDY'S DAY...

So this year for St. Patricks Day, or St. Paddy’s day, or Pat’s Day but most certainly NOT to be called PATTIES DAY (!!!!) I shall be in Korea. In fact as I work on thursday the 17th, for te first time in my 25 years of existence I will have to wait until the saturday to celebrate…such blasphemy, I know…times are a changing!

Nonetheless I sense it is going to be a special one. It will be my first time celebrating in Asia, and along with all the other crazy Irish Paddies tinkering about Korea, I plan to celebrate in style! Granted I hate Guinness, I can hardly string a sentence of Irish together but MAN am I patriotic on St. Patricks Day.

I received my “Paddys Day survival Kit” from my mom on Friday; a green t-shirt, over sized Irish flag, a hairband with boing shamrocks attached and a green, white and orange flower leis. Oh and a huge packet of Balloon to distribute amoung friends. A bit of face-paint and nail varnish and I’m all set!

The Irish Association of Korea is hosting (for the 11th year in a row) a festival and parade of sorts in Insadong, in Seoul.Starting at 11.30am and ending at 5pm, there will be traditional Irish dancing, Guinness tasting, crown participation, a U2 cover band and much much more. For the hard core party heads, there is an “all you can eat, all you can drink (including 3 pints of Guinness!!)” party in the aptly named “Dublin Terrace” in Gangnam, and all for a measly 50,000 won. Yes that is ALL YOU CAN EAT AND DRINK. Madness.

Other options include partying in any one of the numerous Irish bars in Itaewon  from the Wolfhound to Baby Guinness or JR’s, or maybe veer from the traditional hooley and opt to see an American electro hop quartet band called “Far East Movement” in the Sheraton Grand Hotel.

4 thoughts on “St. Patrick’s Day 2011, Korea meets Ireland

  1. Janet

    If the shoe fits, wear it. Any chick that looks that good, would wear that outfit any day of the year she likes and it would be ok, or nothing at all!! Better!!

    Which might be better since half the work would be done, if you a hot blooded male, i’m just trying to represent here, maybe it’s the irish flag is getting me all patriotic? Naah, it’s got to be her body!!

    What can i say, besides ‘How much?’

    K

    1. Oh Kieran! I guess you have proven the point that sex sells, be it in a trashy newspaper or on a blog…at leats it got you to read my blog post haha 😉

Leave a Reply

