Bloggers Day for New Zealand

As I recently made a post urging people to donate to the Japan earthquake appeal, I would also like to post about New Zealand, and encourage people that, despite the devastation caused by the earthquake in ChristChurch, New Zealand is still one of the most beautiful and amazing countries to visit in the world.

Due to the bad media and natural devastation caused by the earthquake, recovery is proving to be a slow process. While one of their biggest money earners, tourism, is in desperate need of a boost, New Zealand, and of course all its people, is suffering terribly. Travel bloggers world wide have set aside these 3 days, from the 20th to the 22nd March to encourage more people to visit the rugged isle that brought you The Lord Of The Rings, All Blacks Rugby, some of the worlds most delicious wines, highest sky dives and bungee jumps along side stunning glaciers and breath taking mountains and lakes.

So in an effort to persuade more people to think about visiting New Zealand, a decision I guarantee you won’t regret, here are a few of my favorite holiday snaps from my 2 weeks travelling around in a camper van with my parents and best friend this time last year and 1 week exploring Auckland.

Our camper trip started in Queenstown, went all the way up the west coast to Abel Tasman National Park then back down the East coast past Kaikora and into the Canterbury plains and finally Christchurch. It’s hard to believe so much of that study city is now destroyed or sitting under rubble.

Queenstown

Sky Diving over Lake Wanaka

 

Dad at Lake Wanaka
Walking through Abel Tasman National Park
Swimming with Dolphins, Kaikora
New Kiwi friends

 

Hot Air Balloon ride over Canterbury Plains
Awesome Auckland
Paradise in the city, Auckland

 

8 thoughts on “Bloggers Day for New Zealand

  1. Great shots! I was on the north island the day of the quake and had my flight out of Christchurch a few days after. Quite a country and more importantly the people and their empathy astounded me

    1. Wow, I bet everyone was in total shock at what was going on. It really is one of the most naturally beautiful countries I’ve ever visited..totally going back some day! 🙂

  2. Thanks for helping my broken home. I haven´t been back to see the damage yet, but my family have and friends have been having a pretty tough time.

    Awesome blog too!!!

    1. Thanks for your comment! You have such a beautiful country, I really hope all these earthquakes stop shaking i up! 😦
      Good luck on your adventures through the Americas- I look forward to following the making of your documentary! Janet

Leave a Reply

