I think it’s BORING. BORING BORING BORING.

Today was so unbelievably frustrating. All 3 teachers were teaching students adjectives to describe what they think of certain music, dancing or hobbies. From exciting, to graceful, from beautiful to difficult, it would seem only one adjective in particular caught on in every class…BORING. 

Korean students don’t exactly think for themselves and love to copy/borrow other peoples opinions, which I noticed on one of my first days teaching here. (Click here for the hilarious consequences) So considering the whole lesson today was based on, “What do you think of X? What do you think of Y?” I should have guessed it would be a flop.

When discussing various types of dances I decided to make the lesson more interesting by showing them some funny videos on you tube. For example this gem of “Stavros Flatley” from Britains Got Talent.

When it finshed I asked the class, so what do you think of this kind of dancing? Without even looking up from the pad they were all doodling on they replied in the same monotone one word anser they had been using for the whole lesson..BORING.

I showed them Riverdance…the legendary Riverdance with Michael Flatley. But oh how silly of me, that’s a BORING DANCE along with every other type of dance under the sun.

My level 5’s were discussing music. I was quick to discover that music I have loved all my life from Jazz music, Salsa music, Rock music, Country music, Reggae music and even classical music…are all BORING. How had I been so blind?! I did, miraculously, get one other adjective wrenched from their closed minds, it appears they are all fiercely patriotic when it comes to anything Korean… K-pop music is “good” and the Korean Fan Dance was “good” too. Kill me now!!!

How Boring...

We talked about Native American Rain dances and I showed them a photo of their elaborate and colorful costumes which were, you guessed it…BORING. I got frustrated at this point because there is no way in hell you could ever describe a rain dance as being “boring”. Extravagant maybe, spectacular, colourful, unusual, maybe even scary but no way is it BORING!

Turns out I wasn’t alone in my findings today. Cindy and Daniel, the other Native English teachers in my school was trying to deal with the exact same problems. Attempting to teach a whole unit on puppets (a Unit usually lasts 7 days) when the students keep emphasizing their dislike/indifference to the world of puppets can be quite the challenge! I guess the ONE HUNDRED AND ONE MILLION PEOPLE who viewed this puppet pals video must just be brain dead thinking this video could be…entertaining when its so OBVIOUSLY BORING!!

One disgruntled and…wait for it…bored..student cheekily commented in class saying , “Teachaa, This is supposed to be ENGLISH class, NOT music class!!” Thanks for the memo you cheeky brat, now prepare yourself for one HELL of a lot of homework, a big chunk of tedious, tiring, dull, irksome, annoying, uninteresting BORING homework coming right at ya!

10 thoughts on “I think it’s BORING. BORING BORING BORING.

  1. May have to add boring to my list of forbidden words. Forbidden words thus-far include:
    fine
    ok
    so-so
    delicious
    hungry
    sleepy
    wonderful

    9/10 those words make up the answer to my question, no matter what the question is asking!

  2. Yeah they’re notoriously difficult to please from about age 11 upwards. They don’t think it’s all boring, they’re just taking the easy way. Set a creative challenge. For example put up a list of adjectival responses and then eliminate them one by one (start with “all words beginning with ‘b'”). Then see how quickly they switch to “it’s funny!”

    Also, I taught “what do you think of…” last week and it was a killer class. Students had to write the ANSWER to a “what do you think of…” question and hold it up. First team to respond with the correct QUESTION won a point (like Jeopardy)

    eg.
    Q: “IT’S FANTASTIC.”
    A: “WHAT DO YOU THINK OF CONVERSE SNEAKERS?”

    aaah, no no. SNEAKERS is plural.

    A: “WHAT DO YOU THINK OF LIPSTICK?”

    yeah, one point.

    anyway, good luck and thanks for the like on my ‘Crayons’ post

    http://johnbartmann.wordpress.com/2011/05/02/crayons/

Leave a Reply

