Time for a career change

Lending a hand to those who need it

So as many of you know, and perhaps many of you DON’T know, I have recently been offered (and as of today, have ACCEPTED!) a place on the MSc in Humanitarian Action in University College Dublin starting in September!

This excites me A LOT and means 2 big changes will be happening over the next few months.

Number 1: This blog will probably get a make-over. Journalist on THE RUN, won’t  be doing too much running! “Journalist in the library” might become more accurate!

While I promise I will still post regularly it may change from travel orientated posts to my observations about everyday life; fun, upcoming events and maybe posts related to the course I will be studying! Stay with me beloved readers, I’m sure I will have just as many adventures back in Dublin as I have had travelling the world over the last few years!

Number 2: My career will be getting a make-over. Note I say “career” in the loosest meaning of the word! At the moment, it would appear I am a “teacher”. That is what I do for 5 days and 40 hours a week. Then again given that little scrap of paper I think we call a degree, I am officially a “Journalist”. If you are reading this right now (Oh, hello there..cuppa tea?) then you may see me as a “blogger”.

Well, as of september 2011, I will be working towards my next career change; to become a qualified Humanitarian Aid worker, something I have DREAMED about for years. It’s an amazing course that allows me to study something I have always been passionate about while still getting feeding my other passion, Travel! With an induction period in the University of Warsaw in Poland, semester 1 in Dublin then semester 2 in either Sweden, Germany or Holland and even a chance to go to one of 6 (mainly developing) countries for semester 3. It sounds pretty awesome, right?

WISH ME LUCK, THE REST OF MY LIFE STARTS HERE!

4 thoughts on “Time for a career change

  1. Wohh wohh, come again! Could you please give me some more info about this program? I’ve ‘talked’ about doing something like this for ages and these days teaching isn’t looking so hot. Plus I’m already in Poland!

  2. Oh my god, congratulations! I am so happy/jealous of you! I would LOVE to become a humanitarian aid worker! (In fact, I was just looking at MSF yesterday and wondering if I’d have a shot…). Tell me all about it when you get the chance; I’d love to pick your brain on it sometime!

Leave a Reply

