Clowning Around Dublin

How would you like to dress up as a clown for the day, prance around Dublin city and promote International Children’s Day by doing some free face painting?“,was the question that started it all.

“Ummm of course I want to dress up like a clown and prance around the streets of Dublin!!”, was my speedy reply!

And so started our plans for International Children’s Day in Dublin! We recruited a few other active, fun-loving couchsurfers and some of my friends from Uni until we had a sizable troupe of clowns. We put a load of bottles of bubbles, face paints and raided our wardrobes for the most eye-catching, vibrant, and colorful clothes we could possibly find!

Clown Troupe Marching to Work
Riding the Bull...entertaining ourselves!

On that fateful saturday morning, we all gathered on Henry streets, outside the early leaning centre (we were aiming at kids, so seemed appropriate!!) and set up camp. We had bubble blowers, jugglers, face painters and a general carnival atmosphere all around us. We put up a little sign that said “Free Face painting” and waited….

Slowly but surely parents with their young offspring in tow approached us to enquire about what we were doing. They kept asking, “How much does it cost”, or “How much is the face painting?”. They simply couldn’t digest what we were saying, “It’s FREE!” They kept trying to find the catch. Were we some religious group? Were we going to start handing out leaflets and forcing customers to take them? Nope. Just free face painting. Just spreading the love and putting a smile on as many people’s face as possible, which is payment enough in my mind.

Out dedicated Bubble Blowers; Linda and Betsy
Our little tigers

 Soon enough word spread, and we had queues forming from all angles to avail of the free face painting. Some people were so chuffed with the end result that they kept offering to give a few Euro, which he politely declined. It was such a great feeling just to do something for FREE and know that your making loads of people, both parents and children happy!

It was one of the most fun days I have ever had, but after hours of jumping about, surrounded by hyper activity, shoutings, laughing, the clowns were exhausted. So around 6pm, as things quietened down, we decided we deserved a well over due pint!! We set off towards Grogans on South William Street but not without some hilarious tangents along the way! 

Tired clowns at Break Time
Busy beavers

 We formed a train and danced our way in and out of random bars and restaurants. We stopped to take a picture with our mate Bob The Builder and even stopped traffic as we marched across Dublin’s busy streets!

One of the funniest moments came as we were waiting to cross a street and 4 of us clowns stood alongside 2 local Guards. One of them turned to us and said, “What have we got here? 3 clowns?” And I looked down the row at us and at them, and cheekily said, “Try 6!“. Luckily at that moment the light turned green and away we ran, in search of more smiles and some long over due pints! An amazing day!

Six Clowns standing in a row!!!
Relaxing with a pint after a long day at work!!
More clown friends!
9 thoughts on “Clowning Around Dublin

    1. So did I when I said it haha. I think you can only get away with being that cheeky to police when in Ireland! 🙂

  1. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the information you present here and can’t wait to
    take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just
    3G .. Anyways, amazing blog!

  2. First of all I want to say awesome blog! I had a quick question in
    which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing.
    I have had difficulty clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out.
    I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just
    seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally
    wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips?

    Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

