Our Deepest Fear

Lately I have been catching up with some old friends, friends from school, from Uni or from all the small side tracks I have taken along the rocky road that is my life. It is an amazing feeling to see how successful, how grown up, how independent or how happy my friends are/have become.

Some are getting married and starting their own families while others are doing PhD’s in Biomedical Science or Applied Physics. Some are still roaming the world, content with nomadic life, jumping from country to country making friends the world over while many have stayed put in Ireland and are, in some cases, making their dreams come true. 

From designing iPhone Apps and synthetic wind pipes to performing live on National TV to getting ready to take on the high rolling mega economy of China, my friends are truly going from strength to strength. I would like to dedicate this blog post to you, my dear friends scattered around the world. Let it shine, be proud, and keep on inspiring those around you!

Let it shine!

Our Deepest Fear (As quoted by Nelson Mandela)

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us…Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” 

9 thoughts on “Our Deepest Fear

    1. It’s one of my favorites! I actually saw it in a newspaper, cut it out and have kept it tucked away in my wallet for the last 7 years!!! 🙂

  1. If you weren’t jet setting around the world I would tell you to come visit, it really is a great life over here! Hope all is well with preparations for Singapore/Fiji! x

  2. I love this post and am borrowing your Mandela quote for my post from Iguacu Falls (Brazil & Argentina). One of my favourite songs ever, “On Earth As It Is In Heaven,” from the Mission soundtrack, filmed at Iguacu, reminds me of his poetics. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

