St Patricks Day….in Ireland!

Yes, Yes, I hear ya! An Irish person, living in Ireland, preaching about the awesomeness of St Patricks Day. How cliché!

But hold up a second, I have my reasons for being seriously over excited about St Paddys Day this year. On March 17th 2013, 9 short days from now, I will get to celebrate all thing Irish on my home stomping ground for the first time in FOUR YEARS!! That’s right, I have spent the last 3 years in a row abroad, and have celebrated Guinness, Leprechauns and ‘The Galway Girl’ in not 1, not 2, but 3 different continients.

 There is so much talk at the moment about emigration and how there is nothing left in Ireland for young graduates. It would seem while most of my generation have already emigrated, and many more are debating the move in the near future, I have strangely found myself back in Ireland, back in Cork, living at home and working locally. And dare I say…I’m loving it.

So while I look forward to St Patricks Day at home this year, 2013 – The year of The Gathering, I find myself reminscing about the last 3 Paddys Day spent abroad..spreading my love of all things Irish to the Ozzies, the Koreans and of the Dutch! The only thing that would make this year better would be if all my amazing friends that I made, loved and sadly had to leave whilst abroad could be here with me to join in the celebrations. Here’s to you….Slainte!

 

Paddys Day 2012 in Melbourne Australia with some awesome Couchsurfers!
Paddys Day 2010 in Melbourne Australia with some awesome Couchsurfers!
Teaching 'all things Irish' t my students in South Korea. Paddys Day 2011.
Teaching ‘all things Irish’ to my students in South Korea. Paddys Day 2011.
My students in Korea enjoying St Patrickd Day decorations!
My students in Korea enjoying St Patrickd Day decorations!
Cycling to the pub...only in Holland!!
Cycling to the pub…only in Holland!!
Spending Paddys day with my classmates from Brazil ans Sweden in an Irish pub in Holland!
Spending Paddys day with my classmates from Brazil ans Sweden in an Irish pub in Holland!

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “St Patricks Day….in Ireland!

Leave a Reply

