Races to Remember – Music, Glow Sticks and Color Bombs

I have been trying to think of fun things to fill up my free time while living in Korea and I think I have finally found the answer! I am gong to make the most of all the wacky short distance runs that this wonderful country has to offer, 3 of these wonderful races I have detailed in this post. If I come across more, I promise to post information about them too…and of course lots of great photos from the event!

First on my schedule of fun is the Color Me Rad 5km run in Ilsan on September 14th. These have been happening all over the world over the summer and everyone that I know that has participated has had a fantastic time. The race involves running a 5km fun course while spectators or volunteers throw packets of colored powder at you until you look like a multi-colored ball of fun!

Entry is 40,000 Won,which while a little steep, is still affordable and includes a pair of funky neon sunglasses, a Color Me Rad t-shirt and color bombs. I am doing this race with a group of other English teachers in my area and we have come up with the wonderful team name of “Paju Prancers”. As long as we finish the race before sunset we will be happy, no sprinting to the finish line for us!! If you would like to sign up just click HERE.

Next up is the Puma Night Run in Seoul Grand Park. What makes this fun? Well, it’s a 7km run at night! Which in Korea means A LOT considering how hot and sweaty it can be in the day time with temperatures reaching 35 degrees celsius. What makes it even better?? It’s in a ZOO!! That’s right, this 7km night run is in Seoul Zoo so you will have all the night owls, curious cats (ahem lions) and many other exotic animals to keep you company and cheer you on!

The race starts at 7pm on September 29th so it’s not at a totally ridiculous hour.Β  It seems pretty well-organized and there and 4 different stages of the course including a Glow Course, a cheering course and an energy course so it’s set to be a great, alcohol-free night out with the animals! You can find more information HERE.

Third up is a race I just found out about yesterday called the EDM (Electronic Dance Music) 5km Run. To me, this looks like the most fun out of all 3 races, probably thanks to my love of glow sticks, silent discos and the fact that dancing my way around a 5km course sounds WAY better than running! While they have yet to set a date or a time (simply ‘Fall 2013’) they have sent this message out to attract people to the race, a message which I think is pretty darn awesome!

“Dear Foreigners living in Korea,
You’ve lived in Korea for how long now? Been out to karaoke bars, clubs, and bars…doesn’t it just seem like every night event requires a drink or one or two or three??
Yes! This is the country that brought you Gangnam Style…but where’s your music video, your fun, your night to remember? I’ll tell you where, It’s at the EDM 5K RUN, and it’s happening this fall!
Come party with us and 10,000 other EDM lovers and lose your mind without one drop of alcohol!”

For updates keep an eye on their wik\cked facebook page – HERE.

If you know of any other fun runs coming to Korea…PLEASE leave a comment! Thank You and happy running! πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Races to Remember – Music, Glow Sticks and Color Bombs

  1. Cool. I used to live in Suwon but I don’t think they ever had events like that. Or more likely as the only foreigner in my neighborhood, I just never knew about them! Have fun!

  2. Just returned from Seoul. Ran it for my first time. Its a fast, flat run and I very much enjoyed it. They put you in starting groups based on your previous best time. I ran with a friend and this was her first full, so we basically started at the back of the pack. There is water and sport drinks every 5K and the tables are a little crowded. The sport drink is Ion or something like that; my tummy didn’t seem to mind it. The course is pretty good, and the fans are excellent. They seemed to really cheer for non Korean’s. There weren’t too many of us. There were 30,000 people in the race, so it was a little crowded. The Olympic Stadium finish was amazing; I will remember it forever. Good shirt, and good medal too. I would suggest that if you are considering going, it’s worth the travel.

  3. know a way to register for the puma run without knowing korean? lots of the races here usually have english options but that doesn’t seem to eb the case with that one

Leave a Reply

