Small Town, Big Lights

It’s hard to believe that I have been back in South Korea for nearly 2 months now. As the, much overused, saying goes…time flies when you’re having fun! As it’s my second time here, all the things that were new, surprising and exciting the first time round aren’t quite as new or exciting this time.

The last few weeks I have had to stop myself on many occasions, pinch myself, and be reminded that YES, you are living in South Korea. I have to remind myself that the town I’m living in, Munsan, is unlike any town you would find in Ireland or anywhere in Europe for that matter! It may be just 10km from the border with North Korea and but it’s also absolutely jam-packed with flashing signs advertising everything from singing rooms, to PC rooms, hair salons, beer and chicken bars (called ‘Hofs’) and every type or private teaching academy you can imagine.

I spent some time last week wandering down the streets taking photos of all the shop fronts, just to remind myself how different this place really is from back home. Just because I am may think what the places I see everyday are boring or ‘old news’, doesn’t mean my family back home or people reading my blog would not be interested to ‘take a peel’ so to speak.

Do you live in a big city with neon signs and flashing lights over every shop door or are you, like me, from a place that is far, far removed from this alternate Universe??!

korean drining bar

korean street signs neon

korean pc bang internet cafe

korean street signs

noraebang korean karaoke

korean street signs

20130829_001147

20130829_000907

One thought on “Small Town, Big Lights

  1. Niagara Falls (Canada) is quite like that. It really is a small town but there is a section that is full of bright lights and neon signs. I have one photograph from years ago, that I love, and it looks just like the Las Vegas strip.

Leave a Reply

