2015 Travel Bucket List

Quick post to share with you some of the destinations I hope to travel to this year. It has always been my goal to visit 50 countries before my 30th birthday, which means I need to visit a minimum of 5 countries this year. Considering it’s January 15th and I have one ticked off already, that shouldn’t be a problem.

Being back this side of the globe (Europe, that is) I would like to make the most of cheap Ryanair flights so I have set myself a goal of visiting 1 new country every month for 12 months! I really want one of those trips to be to the states as I have so many friends I want to visit there. Ideally I want to go to Burning Man Festival this summer…but that depends if I can find people to go with and can get my hands on a ticket!

I plan to stay away from Asia this year, as I covered so much of it over the last 2 years. Time to look in a new direction, and make the most of the amazing destinations closer to home!

buck

On the list so far….

Czech Republic (Just spend the weekend in Prague!)

England (London mainly!)

Germany (Berlin for a Eurocamp Reunion)

Croatia (A lovely sun holiday)

Greece (More sun…lots of islands)

Iceland (direct flights from Ireland start this summer – yay!)

Denmark (Copenhagen to visit friends)

Sweden (plan to drive over form Denmark!)

Norway (hiking, lakes, glaciers…such beauty!)

South Africa (It has been 10 years since my last visit – my heart is still there!)

That leaves 2 countries yet to be decided…any good suggestions?

18 thoughts on “2015 Travel Bucket List

  1. Looks like Mexico, Central or South America needs a visit from you! If you make it to the USA, Mexico is easily accessible from pretty much anywhere, especially California. Central America is also easily accessible and you can’t get there is 3 hours or less from most of the southern states. I live near Miami and it’s a short 1:45 to San Jose, Costa Rica! But as you will discover, air travel in the US is expensive so prepare for that should you go. We’re a massive country so traveling by bus or car can take a very long time depending on where you want to go. For example, I live in the southern part of Florida and it takes nearly 6 hours by car just to get out of Florida and cross into Georgia!

    1. Wow, that’s crazy. I know I desperately want to travel central and south America but as I only get 4 weeks vacation a year – I don’t think I will have the time. Not this year anyway. A good friend of mine here in Ireland is from Mexico though, so I might get to visit with her sometime this year as a side trip from my United States trip. None of these destinations are planned or booked though so this could all change haha.

  2. Hi Janet, I really want to visit Tallinn this year, along with Moscow. Thinking of taking one of those rail package trips. If you haven’t been before I’d definitely recommend Vienna, Austria and Riga, Latvia.

    1. Would actually love to go to Tallinn too..let nenknow if you want a travel buddy! Moscow and St Petersburg are way up on my lifetime bucket list but might wait til I do trans Siberian train ride! 🙂

  3. New Zealand! Breathtakingly beautiful. Or for a nearer and cheaper destination how about Edinburgh for a long weekend. Great city!

    1. Spent a month in New Zealand a few years ago and have been to Edinburgh 3 times…so they are both out!! (Although of flights were cheap enough I would go back to Edinburgh for a weekend – fancy a trip Yvonne??)

  4. The city of Visby on Gotland is really beautiful, especially in summer. Just get a flight to Stockholm and from there the ferry to Visby.

Leave a Reply

